Publication date: March 4, 2021

Paperback

ISBN: 9781838893965
RRP: £ 21.99

Ebook

ISBN: 9781838893989
RRP: £ 0.99

Audiobook (digital download)

ISBN: 9781838893958
RRP: £

Audiobook (CD)

ISBN: 9781838893941
RRP: £

The Hat Girl From Silver Street

Share this book:

Let bestselling author Lindsey Hutchinson take you back in time to the Victorian Black Country, for a tale of love, hardship and fighting against the odds to succeed.

Life is tough for Ella Bancroft. After her father, Thomas, is wheelchair-bound by an accident at the tube works, the responsibility for keeping a roof over their head falls to Ella. Ella’s mother died when she was ten, and her sister Sally lives with her no-good, work-shy husband Eddy, so is no help at all.  If she and her father are to keep the bailiffs from the door, then Ella must earn a living.

But Ella is resourceful as well as creative, and soon discovers she has a gift for millinery. Setting up shop in the front room of their two-up, two-down home in Silver Street, Walsall, Ella and Thomas work hard to establish a thriving business. Before long, the fashionable ladies of the Black Country are lining up to wear one of Ella’s beautiful creations, and finally Ella dares to hope for a life with love, friendship and family.

Meeting the man she longs to marry should be a turning point for Ella, but life’s twists and turns can be cruel. As the winter grows colder, events seem to conspire to test Ella’s spirit. And by the time spring is approaching, will the hat girl of Silver Street triumph, or will Ella have to admit defeat as all her dreams are tested.

The Queen of the Black Country sagas is back with a heart-breaking, unforgettable, page-turning story of love, life and battling against the odds. Perfect for fans of Val Wood and Lyn Andrews. 

Praise for Lindsey Hutchinson:

‘A great story with a great mix of characters, well written and keeps you hooked with each page turn!’ Sarah Davies, NetGalley

‘A wonderful read … The author writes so well, it’s a really hard novel to put down!’ Grace Smith, NetGalley.

‘Make sure to read this book where you won’t be disturbed because once it gets going, you won’t want to put it down’ Andrea Ruiz, NetGalley

‘A very poignant, feel-good-factor novel’ Shelia Easson, NetGalley

‘Excellent story!’ Stephanie Collins, NetGalley

‘The story will linger in your mind long after you finish it’ The Avid Reader

Social Boldwood

NOTHING FOUND!