Publication date: April 21, 2020

Paperback

ISBN: 9781838895235
RRP: £12.99

Ebook

ISBN: 9781838895174
RRP: £2.99

Audiobook (digital download)

ISBN: 9781838895228
RRP: £14.99

Audiobook (CD)

ISBN: 9781838895242
RRP: £

The Wheelwright’s Daughter

Buy The Wheelwright’s Daughter

Share this book:

Can she save herself from a witch’s fate?

Martha is a feisty and articulate young woman, the daughter of a wheelwright, living in a Herefordshire villlage in Elizabethan England. Unusually for the time she is educated and so helps at the local school whilst longing to escape the confines and small-mindedness of a community riven by religious bigotry and poverty.

As she is able to read and is well-versed in herbal remedies she is suspected of being a witch. When a landslip occurs – opening up a huge chasm in the centre of the village – she is blamed for it and pursued remorselessly by the villagers.

But can her own wits and the love of local stablehand Jacob save her from a witch’s persecution and death…

A brilliant and accomplished novel that perfectly captures the febrile atmosphere of Elizabethan village life in an age when suspicion and superstition were rife. Perfect for fans of Tracy Chevalier.

Praise for The Wheelwright’s Daughter:

‘It’s a gripping story and such accomplished writing. I really enjoyed every moment of working on it.’ Yvonne Holland, editor of Philippa Gregory and Tracy Chevalier